Happy Wedding Anniversary Celebration

wedding-anniversary-partyThe holiday is over. It’s time to get back to work. Back to normal, back to the old routine. Although I’ve listed some of the New Year’s resolutions, I still ought to do the things just like what I did from the previous year. If you are to ask how my vacation was, it was pretty good. I had a lot of fun! Aside from the Christmas and New Year parties I’ve attended, there was one more occasion I didn’t miss. That was my aunt and uncle’s wedding anniversary celebration.

You couldn’t tell that was exclusively an anniversary party. It seemed like it was also a get-together cum christmas party cum reunion cum holiday party celebration. Most of the family members from both clans were there, including our family. It was a great celebration, a literal HUGE celebration.

There were party games, dancing and singing. We also exchange gifts. In the middle of the party, I saw my uncle and aunt looking at each other as if they were newly-wed. Whispering in each other, laughing, tapping as if my uncle told her something silly, you can see the love in their eyes. In the middle of that party, I realized something and I suddenly asked myself… when can I find my own wedding partner?

And then it was my turn to sing in the videoke machine. Since I don’t have that good singing voice, I chose a simple song – Closer you and I. When I looked to my uncle, I saw him held my aunt’s hand. Then, she looked at him and smiled…

The host of the party, one of my cousins, aunt’s son, called the anniversary celebrant. They then went to the middle of the party hall. They were requested to tell their wedding anniversary wishes to each other. My uncle took the first turn. He held my aunt’s hand and look at her eyes while saying how much he has been so lucky through the years. That despite of the arguments, “cold war” and problems, she stayed beautiful in his eyes. He also told her that even if he would be given a second life, he will still choose my aunt as his lifetime partner.

I was so touched hearing those words from a guy, from my uncle. I never thought a man would be that expressive. It was my aunt’s turn. She first thanked him for putting up with her drama, with her hang ups in life and for being such a good husband and a father to their children. She also said how much she loved him and so on… I think most of the guests in the celebration was teary-eyed… oh I’m not included, promise! But I had to swallow a lot of time coz I felt a lump in my throat that time. That was the most beautiful scene I’ve ever seen, as they express their wedding anniversary messages for each other, as if they are renewing their vows. That was very romantic!

It was indeed a very romantic and happy wedding anniversary celebration. I really had a lot of fun!

Leave a Reply

